Who Wanders These Woods?

 

The other day when I went for a walk and took the picture of the crocuses, I happened across this tree.  Several messages had been carved into the bark – BADASS, HI MOM, and some statements of love.  It got me thinking about the people who wander these woods.  With the water rushing through the Cowichan River just a few feet away, the ephemeral-ness of time seemed to wind its way around me and the trees and the creatures nearby.  On this day, it is couples and families and seniors walking their dogs, but on the other side of the river is one of the local Cowichan reserves.  You see, this land is the traditional territory of the Cowichan people who are admirably fighting to keep and expand their place and visibility in this small town.  But they are the people who have walked these paths from time immemorial and I need to remember that I am only here because of their good graces and the power of the early colonialists and I am grateful.  Grateful to live in such a beautiful corner of the world, and grateful to have friends whose roots here go back farther than I can imagine.

I walked a few steps closer to the water and found this stone.  It was the perfect ending to a perfect moment.

4 responses to “Who Wanders These Woods?

Leave a Reply

