Dripping Moss

Dripping Moss

I remember looking at Emily Carr’s paintings of moss hanging off trees and thinking that it was too exaggerated. Then I went for a walk through a Vancouver Island forest and realized that what she had been painting was far closer to the real thing than I could ever imagine.

10 responses to “Dripping Moss

  1. So true Diane! I think the other comment I often here about Emily Carr’s paintings is that “they are so dark!” Again, if we wander through the west coast forest and then sit awhile as she would, I believe we find her palette appropriate.

    • It’s so true. Emily Carr was the penultimate west coast artist. She lived for her animals and her painting and spent hours and hours in the rain forest. I admire her – she gave up everything for her passions.

      • Okay, Terrill, I just looked at your blog. Your work is in collections with Emily Carr and A.Y. Jackson and Lawren Harris? I am thoroughly and suitably impressed!

Leave a Reply

